PhD Students

CLIMATE FOR CULTURE enables highly qualified PhD students to carry out a dissertation within the scope of research conducted in the single Work Packages (WPs) of the project. Academic support is guaranteed by the participating Universitites such as the University of Gotland, the TU Eindhoven or the CTU Prague.

In the moment 18 PhD students from different disciplines are involved in the project:

  • Ralf Kilian

    Scientific Coordinator, WP 3
    University
    University of Stuttgart, Department of Building Physics

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Position
    Group Manager, Preservation of Historic Monuments and Preventive Conservation, Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics

    Topic
    Climatic stability of historic buildings - Evaluation of hygrothermal building simulation in the context of preventive conservation

    Contact

    ralf.kilian@ibp.fraunhofer.de
  • Andreas Weiß

    WP 2, WP4
    University
    TU Munich, Department of Conservation

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Topic
    Field studies about the climatic tolerance of painted wooden and canvas surfaces of cultural heritage objects

    Contact
    conservation@t-online.de
  • Kristina Holl

    WP 4
    University
    TU Munich, Department of Conservation

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Position
    Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics

    Topic
    Effect of climate fluctuations on works of art (short term)

    Contact

    Kristina.holl@ibp.fraunhofer.de
  • Florian Antretter

    WP 3 leader
    University
    University of Stuttgart, Department of Building Physics

    Academic discipline
    Civil Engineer

    Position
    Group manager of the work group Hygrothermal Building Analysis at Fraunhofer IBP

    Contact
    Florian.Antretter@ibp.fraunhofer.de
  • Gustaf Leijonhufvud

    WP 8, WP 5
    University
    Gotland University and University of Gothenburg, Department of Conservation

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Topic
    Management of environmental control in historic buildings

    Contact
    gustaf.leijonhufvud@hgo.se
  • Charlotta Bylund Melin

    WP 4
    University
    Gotland University, Department of Conservation

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Topic
    Climate criteria for preservation of painted wood

    Contact
    charlotta.bylund-melin@conservation.gu.se
  • Ivana Krestynova

    WP 7
    University
    CTU Prague, Department of Instrumentation and Control Engineering, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

    Academic discipline
    Mechanical Engineer

    Contact
    Ivana.Krestynova@fs.cvut.cz
  • Magnus Wessberg

    WP 7
    University
    Gotland University and CTU Prague

    Academic discipline
    Mechanical Engineer

    Topic
    Distributed microclimate control in historic buildings

    Contact

    magnus.wessberg@hgo.se

  • Petra Štukovnik

    WP 2, WP 4
    University
    University of Ljubljana, Slovenia


    Academic discipline
    Geologist

    Position
    Teaching Assistant

    Topic
    Influence of environment on historical materials with mineral binder

    Contact

    petra.stukovnik@fgg.uni-lj.s

  • Cathy Daly

    University
    Dublin Institute of Technology

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Topic
    Methodology for the assessment of vulnerabilities to predicted climate change: focussing on Ireland`s two World Heritage sites

    Contact
    cathydaly@hotmail.com
  • Agnieszka Sadlowska

    WP 3
    University
    Cracow University of Technology

    Academic discipline
    MSc, Environmental Engineering

    Contact
    sadlowska.a@gmail.com
  • Torun Widstrom

    WP 3, WP 8
    University
    Gotland University and University of Gothenburg, Department of Conservation

    Academic discipline
    Architect

    Contact
    torun.widstrom@byv.kth.se
  • Melanie Eibl

    WP 2, WP 3
    University
    TU Munich

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Position

    Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, Doerner Institut

    Contact

    eibl@doernerinstitut.de

  • Zara Huijbregts

    WP 3, WP 7
    University
    Eindhoven University of Technology TU/e

    Academic discipline
    Engineer

    Topic
    Computational modelling of indoor climate conditions in historic buildings and damage potential for collections

    Contact
    z.huijbregts@tue.nl
  • Andrea Luciani

    University
    Politecnico di Milano

    Academic discipline
    Conservator

    Topic
    A historical climate for conservation environments. The evolution of climate control strategies and standards in museums and heritage buildings

    Contact
    andlux81@gmail.com